How I got a lesson on beauty & expectations by a stranger that looked like Zach Galifianakis

Real Zach Galifianakis

Last Sunday, when my mother and I were flying back home from some medical checkups in Monterrey, I had the pleasure of spotting a Zach Galifianakis lookalike. This guy was half a foot shorter than me, petite in his slightly chubby build, with big eyes the exact shape of Zach’s, and a black beard to be the cherry on top. He looked so strikingly similar to the actor, that I did a double take and then stared at him surreptitiously whenever I could.

Suddenly, I was wishing that this guy would notice me and start a conversation, because SURELY he was just as hilarious as Zach Galifianakis. Right? I mean he looked almost exactly like him, just in a dark-haired, dark-eyes version. I started imagining us becoming friends and sharing hysterical quips and general wit, and having lots of fun together. It made me sad that I was too shy to walk up to him and say ‘Hi!’. And as I lamented my introversion and timidity, a flash of reality enlightened my brain. I visualized myself saying hello to this guy, and him replying in the most depressing voice and having the dullest of personalities. “Why would you think he’s fun & hilarious, just because he happens to look similar to a comedian?”, inquired my brain. “Wow, Brain, you got a point. I didn’t see it that way.”

So then the logic bricks fell to place and lead me to arrive at a conclusion. Humans normally do the exact same thing with aesthetically pleasing features. At least, whenever I see someone that pleases my eyes, I am attracted to them and I mentally attach all these good qualities to them, as though being genetically fortunate automatically means also being a beautiful human inside, in thoughts, emotions, and personality.

Of course, I am not that silly anymore. Since rejection has been a part of my life, I tend to be skeptical of pretty faces’ intentions, thus, never automatically believing that their looks equal inner beauty.

Why would I expect the guy at the airport to behave exactly like Zach Galifianakis? Just because he looked like him! Likewise, why would I rely on the looks of a person to decide on whether or not I would like to get to know them? This criterion is most frivolous and idiotic! But a lesson was learned that breezy day at the airport. Although an automatic response seems to have formed inside me throughout the years, at least now I can pause and think of this conclusion, and take a moment to look past what’s outside into what emanates, energy-wise, from the human in question.

Leave a comment